The HR Division website will be changing to AOM Connect in the coming months and we will have a brand new website! Thank you for your patience as we wind down this website and transition over to our new format.


2019 International Conference

  • Conference Chair: Brian Harney, Dublin City University
  • Program Chair: David G. Collings, Dublin City University
  • PD...

    Read More

International Ambassador Program Project 2016-18

The Ambassador’s project for 2016-18 is exploring ‘Work Design across Cultures’. It is an ambitious project involving partners in more than 40 countries worldwide. Based on burgeoning interest in the importance of the notion of good work and its value to both organizations and employees alike, there is a fundamental need to explore how the definition of good work might vary across national cultures. Multinational enterprises operating across borders have the challenge of understanding how both employees and managers in different countries might interpret good work, and related means to implement this. The study centers around three core questions:
  1. How does work differ across cultures?
  2. How might national culture affect the relationships among work design and outcomes?
  3. What constitutes “good work” and how does that vary across cultures?
In order to address these questions, the research is based on the work design questionnaire (WDQ). The WDQ is a comprehensive measure of work design developed based on established taxonomic and psychometric guidelines. The WDQ is a measure of 21 work characteristics grouped into four higher-order categories: task, knowledge, social, and contextual. Since its publication (Morgeson & Humphrey, 2006), the WDQ has been one of the most highly cited articles in the Journal of Applied Psychology in 2006. To support the countries participating worldwide, the project is being led by the following HR Division members:
  1. Michal Biron, University of Haifa, Israel,
  2. Elaine Farndale, The Pennsylvania State University, USA,
  3. Frederick Morgeson, Michigan State University, USA,
  4. Eleni Stavrou-Costea, University of Cyprus,
  5. James Sun, University of Auckland, New Zealand,
The list of participating countries includes: Australia, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Lithuania, Macau, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russia, Servia, Slovenia, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey (Gaye Özçelik, Beynaz Uysal and Cavide B. Uyargil), UAE, UK, and USA.